Leadership

Leadership

Current Section Chair – Jamie Curtis-Fisk

Jaime Curtis-Fisk holds a bachelors degree in chemistry from Grand Valley State University. She earned her PhD in chemistry with a Certification in College Teaching from Michigan State University. While at MSU she received the Quantitative Biological Modeling Fellowship, Herbert T. Graham Graduate Fellowship, Barnett Rosenberg Fellowship, and the Brubaker Endowed Fellowship.  Jaime is an associate research scientist and STEM program manager for the Dow Chemical Company. Through this unique dual role she leads both technical projects and community outreach initiatives. As a scientist, Jaime’s work focuses on formulation development for the delivery of active ingredients which has involved leading projects for pharmaceutical, microbial control, and packaging applications. She also leads the Dow STEM Ambassadors program and company’s initiatives to support teacher professional development. The employee outreach program she has developed has grown to over 1300 volunteers across many communities globally. Prior to the transition to industry, Jaime held teaching roles as a chemistry professor at Grand Valley State University, and before that a visiting professor at Michigan State University. During her time at MSU she was awarded the university’s Excellence in Teaching Citation.

As chair of the Midland section of the Women Chemists Committee, Jaime works with her team to coordinate community programs focused on networking, career development for women, and youth outreach to build the pipeline of future women scientists. Jaime also serves on Dow’s GROW steering committee, the company’s internal effort dedicated to Growing R&D Opportunities for Women. Jaime was recently honored with the American Chemical Society’s 2015 Rising Star Award, presented by the Women Chemists Committee, for her technical strength and passion for advancing the role of women in science. In addition to volunteer engagement through ACS, Jaime’s role as a STEM program leader for Dow Chemical has given her extensive experience in coordinating volunteer programs, working with other community organizations with a shared volunteer mission, and collaborating with area Foundations to achieve impact for our community.

See the ACS Multimedia Lab interview with Jaime as part of the What Chemists Do series

Board of Directors:

The Board of Directors consists of the officers of the Section (chair, chair-elect, secretary, and treasurer), the immediate Past Chair, the Councilors, the Alternate Councilors, the Chair of the Committee on Nominations and Elections, and nine Directors, all of whom are voting members. The Councilors, Alternate Councilors, and Directors are elected to three-year terms. All others are elected to one-year terms. The number in parentheses in the list below indicates the final year in office. The asterisk indicates a member of the Executive Committee.

 

Committee Chairs: There are four standing committees: nominations and elections, membership, program, and publicity. All other committees are established by the Board of Directors with Committee Chairs appointed by the Chair of the Section. Below is also a list of the current committee chairs.

Midland Section ACS handbook 2015

Board Members

Chair* Jamie Curtis-Fisk chair@midlandacs.org
Chair-Elect* Anne Kelly-Rowley amkelly-rowley@dow.com
Secretary* Kshitish Patankar secretary@midlandacs.org
Treasurer* Wendy Flory treasurer@midlandacs.org
Past Chair* Gina Malczewski reginamalczewski@gmail.com
Councilor (16) Tina Leaym tina.leaym@dowcorning.com
Councilor (17) Dale LeCaptain dale.lecaptain@cmich.edu
Alternate Councilor (16) Shawn Chen xchen@dow.com
Alternate Councilor (17) Tami Sivy tsivy@svsu.edu
Chair, Nominations & Elections Committee Wenyi Huang elections@midlandacs.org
Director (16) Wendell Dilling dilli1wl@cmich.edu
Director (16) Steve Keinath skeinath54@charter.net
Director (16)* Janet Smith janet.smith@dowcorning.com
Director (17) Bob Howell bob.a.howell@cmich.edu
Director (17) Dave Stickles dstick44@chartermi.net
Director (17) Beata Kilos BAKilos@dow.com
Director (18) Kevin Wier kevin.wier@dowcorning.com
Director (18)* Michelle Cummings michelle.cummings@dowcorning.com
Director (18)* Pat Smith smithp62@msu.edu
Committee Chairs
2019 Central Regional Meeting Dimi Katsoulis dimi.katsoulis@dowcorning.com
Awards Diana Deese awards@midlandacs.org
Chemistry Olympiad Michael Tulchinsky tulchimi@dow.com
Ex Officio Director Tom Lane maingeek1@gmail.com
Fall Scientific Meeting Michael Vagnini MTVagnini@dow.com
Finance Janet Smith finance@midlandacs.org
Historian Wendell Dilling history@midlandacs.org
Long Range Planning Committee Gina Malczewski reginamalczewski@gmail.com
Membership Tamlin Matthews membership@midlandacs.org
Midland Chemist Newsletter Vickie Langer newseditor@midlandacs.org
Steve Keinath newseditor@midlandacs.org
MMTG Jeff Seifferly jeff.seifferly@dowcorning.com
Jason Suhr j.d.suhr@dowcorning.com
Multicultural & Diversity Committee Dominique Downing DODowning@dow.com
Outreach/Kids and Chemistry Gina Malczewski outreach@midlandacs.org
Program Anne Kelly-Rowley amkelly-rowley@dow.com
Project SEED Bernadette Harkness bernadetteharkness@delta.edu
Public Affairs Open
Publicity Open
Safety Kevin Wier safety@midlandacs.org
Sci-Fest/NCW Dave Stickles dstick44@chartermi.net
Michelle Rivard michelle.rivard@dowcorning.com
Silver Circle/Senior Chemists Joan Sabourin jmsabour2@gmail.com
Gretchen Kohl gretchen.kohl@att.net
Teacher Support Gina Malczewski reginamalczewski@gmail.com
Webmaster Greg Cushing web@midlandacs.org
Women Chemists Committee  Beata Kilos  BAKilos@dow.com
Young Chemists Committee Kayla Mikek kayla.mikek@dowcorning.com